NaNoWriMo, no more! Until next year…

Wow!  Just when I thought I could write no more, I’m writing a post about writing so much, my wrists are no longer my friends!  This past month, I decided to try something new, like abandoning my blog, yes, I know.  Some of us, including me might think it would be a new recipe, a new book, a new sport perhaps.  No, no, no, I decided I’d try this great new challenge, to write a 50,000 word novel.  How long did I have to complete it you ask?  Oh, you know, a month!  Crazy, right?  But, I did it!  And, since it was my first year attempting it, I was a little lackluster in my effort the first week or two or three and so half of my words happened in one week!  That’s right!  And, it’s important to know now I can do that much if I feel it’s important to me and I prioritize my life to reflect that goal.  This experience will stay with me as a metaphor for a lot of different challenges I will face in life. 

Two things made it unique for me, aside from the obvious accomplishment.  My mom is excited about writing a story next year and my daughter, who is 7 years old, walked up to me as I was standing in a rare moment of pause and she looked up at me with those sweet eyes of hers and said very simply; “Mama, you inspire me, I think I can write a book now too.”  I gave her a big hug and told her how much it made my heart smile to hear such a wonderful thought, and she was on her way nodding, saying; “Yes, I think I can do it now.”

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo, no more! Until next year…

  1. Awww, that’s so awesome about your daughter! I hadn’t made that connection, but my 8 yr old daughter also threw herself into writing this month. I wonder if she was inspired? I know for sure that she wanted to connect with me, because she kept calling me her “writing buddy”. *sniffle* So precious!

    • Suz says:

      I love her calling you writing buddy! I’m sure your commitment had a lot to do with her new habit! I’m excited about next year because my son’s teacher wants to do it for his class so it will be a family affair!

Leave a Reply

